“If I Stay” Movie Review

By Olivia Walters

If I Stay is an astonishing movie. The way it is set up is definitely compelling yet a little confusing. The main character, Mia, is an above average teenager. She has a loving boyfriend, family and friends, and a God- given talent. She goes to a Julliard audition; Julliard is an outstanding performing arts college. She is waiting for the results when they leave the house to visit family. On the way to the families’ house, they hit a huge truck head on. Will her mother, father, and brother Teddy be okay? Will she stay?

A novel was written also by Gayle Forman. I am currently reading the book and it follows the story really well. The book and movie is about a couple, Adam and Mia, who have the cutest relationship. They had everything, and then Mia may be gone forever?

The movie is rated PG-13 but I feel the age that would truly enjoy it is ages 12-19, mostly because this is a teenager type of movie. This is more of a mature movie but is definitely one to see. I would totally see this movie again and again and again for the rest of my life.

Mia is raised as a rocker chick but soon realizes that playing the cello is her destiny. Her parents are devastated but understanding. I am bringing this point up because like Mia there are other people out here who have this talent and are inspirational.

If I had to rate this movie, I would give it five out of five stars. The movie inspired me to practice on my own instrument more just so I can be like her. This movie will be a smash hit and I believe that everyone should see it as soon as possible.

This movie was heartwarming, edgy, and truly inspirational. Imagine what it would be like to wake up an orphan or if you had lost someone close. Will Mia wake up an orphan or will she have her family once again with her?

Leave a Reply

