Louisville Jack-O-Lantern Spectacular

By: Olivia Hawkins

If you are like me when you read the words “Jack-O-Lantern” and “spectacular” in the same sentence your attention is effortlessly grabbed. If you enjoy the sweet taste of apple cider on your tongue, a fun atmosphere, the outdoors and seeing a few thousand pumpkins individually hand carved then I have found the right event for you. As long as you don’t mind a bit of chill you should be alright.

The Jack-O-Lantern Spectacular takes place in Iroquois Park in Louisville, Kentucky. This year’s theme for the pumpkins is going through time. So you start to where the pumpkins have prehistoric creatures carved into them and end up with pumpkins having things or people like University of Louisville Men’s Basketball Coach, Rick Patino carved into it. This pumpkin art show is set up on a one-fourth of a mile trail.  This art show included 5,000 individually carved pumpkins. No pumpkin possess the exact same features of another. Yes I did say the very mind-boggling number of 5,000 pumpkins! This unusual display is open for peeks from dusk to 11 pm. I personally suggest you go around the time of 9 pm.

You may be wondering what else is there besides the pumpkins? Should I eat before I attend? Well the pumpkins are the main part, they serve many autumn like drinks and food. When you first arrive you do have to stand in a line that goes through the amphitheater in the park. Then once you get out of the amphitheater you have the area where food and drinks are. There is hot or cold apple cider, your classic sodas, bottles of water, hot chocolate, and some pretty superb funnel cakes.

After attending the event myself I would give it four out of five stars. The only downside is that there is a bit of a wait sometimes. So if you are very impatient I do not suggest you come. I thoroughly enjoyed every pumpkin. Each seemed to have its own personality. The pumpkins remarkably well displayed realistically what the artist was trying to portray and the certain times in history. The music in each section made the time period of history it was showing, come alive. I would suggest this to people of all ages and I will definitely attend this enjoyable event next year.

