New Albany Middle School Girls Soccer team: Q and A

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About the team:

Recently, Nathaniel Scribner Middle School and Hazelwood Middle School teamed up to form a New Albany Middle School girls soccer team. The team is open to girls from grades 5th- 8th. The coach, Tim Quackenbush, has said many times that it is a great opportunity for girls who want to go out for the soccer team in high school. All of the team has mentioned their excitement for the season. They all hope to succeed in games against North Harrison, Silver Creek and even Highland Hills. During the season the team won four games, tied in one, and lost a game. The girls were also given recognition during halftime at a NAHS girls soccer game against Seymour

Q and A:

Mariah Reese- 8th grade

Plays for: Southern Indiana United

Q: What was your reaction when they decided to make a girls team? Why did you think it was a good idea?

      A: “I was happy…it was unfair to have a boys team and not a girls team.”

Q: Tell us about your teammates – did you meet anybody new?

      A: “I met a lot of 7th graders.”

Q: Do you like that the coach is the girls soccer coach at New Albany?

      A: “Yes…It will give me a better chance of getting on the team in high school”

Q: Why are you excited for this season?   

      A:”Because I’ve never played for an all-girls team before”

Q: What position do you play?

      A:”Defender, because you can be aggressive”  

Alaina Walker- 5th grade

Plays For: SIU Net-Surfers U11

Q: What was your reaction when they decided to make a girls soccer team? Why did you think it was a good idea?

      A:”Happy/excited because I only have one game a week, which sometimes gets cancelled.”

Q: Tell us about your teammates- did you meet anyone new?

      A: “Yes! I met older girls that I see at school.”

Q: Do you like that the coach is the New Albany girls soccer coach?”

      A: “Yes, I knew him before, because my older sister is on that team in High School.”

Q: What are you most excited for in the season, and why?”

      A: “The games- I like going against older girls… I can knock them down!”

Q: What Position do you play?

      A: “I like midfield and defense because it’s fun to feel like you’ve saved the keeper! And in midfield I get the ball a lot more!”

Layne Burke- 7th grade

Plays for: SIU Net-Surfers U13

Q: What was your reaction when they made an all girls team? Were you happy?

      A: “Yes, because Net-Surfers soccer wasn’t happening yet over summer,so it gave me something to do.”

Q: Did you meet anybody new?

      A: “ Yes! I met some girls from Hazelwood and got to know other girls better.”

Q: Do you like that the coach is the New Albany Girls coach?

      A: “Yes my mom and dad knew him before, but now he knows who I am.”

Q: What are you excited for this season?

      A: “The car wash, to raise money for referee costs… and to play the Scribner boys team.”
Q: What position do you play?

      A: “I like playing midfield because you can make opportunities and create plays.”

Grace Barber- 7th grade

Plays for: KFJ (Kentucky Fire Junior)

Q: What was your reaction when they decided to make a girls soccer team?

      A: “I was happy because I can make new friends and play soccer at the same time.”

Q: Did you meet anybody new?

      A: “Yes, I met a few new people…they are all very nice.”

Q: Do you like that the coach is the NAHS girls soccer coach? Tell us about him.

      A: “I knew him before, because my sister is on his team; I do like him.”

Q: What are you excited about in this season?

      A: “I’m excited about scoring lots of goals.”

Q: What position do you play?

      A: “Center attacking mid.”     

Leave a Reply

